Shortcut Navigation:

Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty Award

The Outstanding Untenured Faculty Member Award was presented to Dr. John Haan at the 32nd Annual Awards Reception held by the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics on April 30, 2015. Since joining the faculty in 2011, Dr. Haan has demonstrated exceptional talents in both teaching and research. His innovative approaches to lectures, major revisions to upper-division laboratories, and revitalization of our instrumental analysis course in the area of electrochemistry have significantly enhanced the curriculum. John is and has been highly productive in research, producing several publications, receiving important grants, making numerous presentations, and filing a patent application. His focus on fuel cell technology provides an important interface between chemistry and engineering/energy technology in the development of new applications. Dr. Haan's mentorship of research students has resulted in the establishment of a local student chapter of the Electrochemical Society. Current and former students have been inspired by Dr. Haan's energy and enthusiasm, and they express admiration for his creative approaches, positive attitudes, and friendship. Dr. Haan is a truly outstanding faculty member.

Meet Amanda C. Evans

Bio-Organic Chemist Develops Pharmaceuticals and Materials Using New Technologies


Meet Alexandra Orchard

Researcher Focuses on Developing Drugs to Treat Viruses, Mentoring Students


Pollak Library's new interim librarian: Scott Hewitt

Hewitt was recently appointed Cal State Fullerton’s interim university librarian. He is expected to hold the position for 12 to 18 months, while the university conducts a national search for a successor.


$600,000 Award for New Bioscience Scholarship Program

To provide support for biological science, chemistry and biochemistry students pursuing careers in the bioscience industry, Cal State Fullerton has been awarded a $617,139, five-year grant from the National Science Foundation for a new undergraduate scholarship program.